Tectonic and stratigraphic evolution of the Punta del Este and Pelotas basins (offshore Uruguay)

Nenhuma Miniatura disponível




Morales, Ethel
Chang, Hung Kiang [UNESP]
Soto, Matias
Correa, Fernando Santos [UNESP]
Veroslavsky, Gerardo
Ana, Hector de Santa
Conti, Bruno
Daners, Gloria

Título da Revista

ISSN da Revista

Título de Volume


Geological Soc Publ House


Regional seismic reflection profiles and well data from the Uruguayan margin were integrated in order to analyse and illustrate its tectonic and stratigraphic evolution. The evolution of the Punta del Este and Pelotas basins is divided into four major phases: pre-rift (Palaeozoic); rift (Jurassic-Early Cretaceous); transition (Barremian-Aptian) and post-rift (AptianPresent). Each of these phases is characterized by a specific structural configuration and a stratigraphic architecture related to basin type, tectonic elements, sediment supply and base-level changes. During the geological evolution of the Uruguayan continental margin, a NE migration of depocentres occurred. The Cretaceous depocentre is located in the Punta del Este Basin, while the Cenozoic depocentre is located in the Pelotas Basin.



Como citar

Petroleum Geoscience. Bath: Geological Soc Publ House, v. 23, n. 4, p. 415-426, 2017.